2017 NGLA Awards Information

Each year at the Annual Conference, the Northeast Greek Leadership Association recognizes chapters, councils and Fraternity and Sorority communities and individuals for their outstanding accomplishments over the past year. These organizations and individuals, through their programs, initiatives and commitment to the fraternal movement, help to advance the mission of NGLA.  

This year, the NGLA Awards Committee has developed a new application process. This process reflects the feedback given by previous applicants over the past few years. Even if you have applied for these awards in the past, please read over the directions to make sure that your application is complete. All application submissions are due by Wednesday, January 18, 2017 at 5:00pm EST. Unfortunately, any campuses that were found in violation of the 2016 NGLA Annual Conference Code of Conduct are not eligible to apply for the 2017 Awards. 

Please direct all awards questions and inquiries to Taylor Mahanna, Awards Chair, at taylor.mahanna@gmail.com and Ryan Cole, Assistant Awards Chair, at ryanscottcole@gmail.com. All Awards Applications will be submitted online via the award application.



Organizational Awards

Amy Vojta Impact Awards

The Amy Vojta Impact Awards celebrate the accomplishments of our chapters, councils and communities in seven areas. Named in honor of Amy Vojta, former Executive Director of NGLA, recipients of these awards have excelled in a certain area and have created a program or initiative that has had a positive impact on their group.

Impact Awards are given in the following categories:

  • Academic Achievement
  • Chapter Development and Leadership
  • Membership Recruitment/Intake
  • Multicultural Initiatives/Programming
  • Civic Engagement
  • Public Relations
  • Risk Reduction

How to apply for an Impact Award

Applications are available here. Please note that only one application can be submitted per award, and incomplete or incorrect submissions will not be considered. 

Panhellenic Community Impact Award 

Gamma Phi Beta Sorority is pleased to announce the 28th Annual Panhellenic Community Impact Award, created to recognize an outstanding College Panhellenic that participates in the NGLA and successfully plans and implements a program that positively enhances the Greek reputation to campus faculty/administration, the community and non-Greek students and parents. A $250 grant and certificate will be presented to the winning College Panhellenic at the 2017 Annual Conference.

To apply for this award, go to GammaPhiBeta.org/Panhellenic-Awards. For questions regarding this award, please contact Teresa Tisserat at ttisserat@gammaphibeta.org



Individual Awards

The following awards recognize outstanding individual achievement in our communities.

Greek Leader of Distinction Award

This award recognizes several outstanding members of the fraternity/sorority communities throughout the Northeast. These students are individuals who exemplify the ideals of their fraternity or sorority in their daily lives.

Each community may nominate up to one (1) student per governing council.

Phillipi Award

The purpose of this award is to recognize a Fraternity/Sorority campus professional who has made significant contributions to the Fraternity/Sorority community within the Northeast region by advising any governing council.

Each campus community can nominate up to one (1) professional and no more than three (3) nomination letters may be submitted on their behalf. 

Guenzler Award

The purpose of this award is to recognize a staff member or volunteer of a fraternity/sorority organization who has made significant and long term contributions to the Fraternity/Sorority community within the Northeast region or to the Northeast Greek Leadership Association.

Each community or organization can nominate up to one (1) volunteer and no more than three (3) nomination letters may be submitted on their behalf.

Bonnie Wunsch Volunteer Award

The purpose of this award is to recognize a volunteer who has made significant contributions to the Northeast Greek Leadership Association.

Nominations are limited to three (3) letters of support per nominee and should include specific volunteer involvement within NGLA.

Josette Kaufman Award

The award is meant to honor the good work chapters, councils, and communities have done in the health and wellness areas including, but not limited to, women’s and men’s health issues, sexual assault, cyber-bullying and/or mental health education and prevention.



2016-2017 Awards Committee

Thank you to members of the Awards Committee for their volunteerism and for helping to recognize the outstanding achievements within our communities throughout the Northeast.

  • Taylor Mahanna, HR Coordinator- Training and Development, SGH- Awards Chair
  • Ryan Cole, Graduate Coordinator for Greek Life, Stevens Institute of Technology- Assistant Awards Char
  • Anna D’Alfonso, Graduate Assistant for Fraternity and Sorority life, Pratt Institute
  • Michael Davis, Assistant Director of Leadership Development, Seton Hall
  • Jordan Gomes, Assistant Hall Director, The Ohio State University
  • Zac Hyder, Graduate Assistant, Department of Fraternity and Sorority Life, University of Maryland, College Park
  • Randi Kempton, Graduate Assistant for Fraternity and Sorority Life, Adelphi University
  • Valerie Luutran, President, All Greek Council, University of New Haven
  • Shelissa Newball, Assistant Director for Greek Life and Leadership, University of New Haven